Gala are ‘Club of the Year’

The final event of the season in the East of Scotland Squash Conference pitted Gala and Grange against the City’s heavyweights, Collington Castle.  The match was played at Edinburgh Sports Club and coincided with the East of Scotland squash finals.  Collinton Castle again proved too strong for Gala and Grange taking the match 23-16.  The Gala players found the going tough with Del Sharratt losing his rubbers 2-0 to Mark Crease and Gordon Robertson respectively, and Del’s final match against Paul McIntosh was abandoned after Paul pulled out with an injury.  Rachel McAleese fared slightly better managing a 2-1 defeat to Laura Robson and Gregg Brown before going down 2-0 to Paul McIntosh.  Gala Squash Clubs other player Luis Molero had a bit more success taking a game off veteran Gordon Robertson (2-1) and defeating Paul McIntosh 2-1.

Collinton Castles Gordon Robertson was crowned Conference Player of the season having been Man of the Match in three events.

In other awards Gala Squash Club won the “Club of The Year” in the East of Scotland Squash Association.  Organiser Christy Looby said “The commitment and enthusiasm of Gala Squash club throughout the season has made the whole Conference possible, they travel to every event and their dedication is commendable”.  Gala Captain, Del Sharratt, who collected the award said ” I wasn’t expecting an award like this, there are many teams in the East of Scotland Squash association that deserved this award – Edinburgh University the Division 1 Champions, Collinton Castle for their Victory in the conference series, so I am honoured to accept this reward.  Gala Squash Club are just happy to be participating with the ‘Big City Clubs’ and look forward to more matches next season”.


Picture 1: Christy Looby (events manager) presenting the Club of the Year award to gala Captain Del Sharratt


Picture 2: The Gala Squash Club Team (L-R) Rachel McAleese (Ever Present! and Event 4 Lady of the match); Luis Molero; Del Sharratt (capt); Ruaridh Kohler.  Missing from picture are John Sharratt (Event 1 Man of Match) and Michael Howard.