Triumph for Gala in Conference Event 4

Grange conference match Feb 2015 photo 1Front row: Gala players Rachel McAleese, Luis Molero, Stephanie McDowell, Michael Howard


The latest event in the East of Scotland Squash Conference saw Gala Squash Club team up with the hosts Grange Sports Club to take on the City Heavyweights Collinton Castle & Dean Squash Club.

Gala were missing key players and travelled with Luis Molero, Michael Howard, Rachel McAleese and Stephanie McDowell – they were joined by Dean Turner, Shane Martyn and Jonathan Hughes from The Grange Sports Club.  Collinton Castle had stalwarts Mark Crease and Gordon Robertson joined by Gregg Brown and Anne Robertson and topped up with The Dean’s Russell Ogg and Patrick Jones.

There was quite a broad standard of talent on display and Gala & Grange wanted to get off to a winning start and Shane Martyn Triumped 2-0 against Gregg Brown in the very first match, the Top Seeds Mark Crease and Dean Turner then battled out a close fought 2-1 game in Collinton & Dean’s favour.

When the Gala players took to the court, Luis Molero won 2-0 against Patrick Jones and Michael Howard went down 2-0 to Gordon Robertson.  Luis Molero later turned the tables on Gordon Robertson by taking a stunning 2-0 victory over the seasoned veteran which won the match for Gala and Grange.  In the absence of the injured Del Sharratt, the Gala Captain for the day was Luis Molero who said aftrerwards “It has been an extremely enjoyable occasion, to top it off with a victory makes it extra special”.

Final Standings: Gala & Grange 26-25 Collinton Castle & Dean

Full Results (G&G first):

S Martyn 2-0 G Brown, D Turner 1-2 M Crease, M Howard 0-2 G Robertson, L Molero 2-0 P Jones, R McAleese 1-2 A Robertson, J Hughes 1-2 R Ogg, D Turner 2-0 G Robertson, S McDowell 0-2 A Robertson, S Martyn 2-1 P Jones, L Molero 0-2 M Crease, M Howard 1-2 P Jones, J Hughes 2-0 A Robertson, S McDowell 0-2 R Ogg, R McAleese 2-0 G Brown, L Molero 2-0 G Robertson, M Howard 1-2 M Crease, R McAleese 0-2 R Ogg, S McDowell 0-2 P Jones, D Turner 1-2 R Ogg, J Hughes 2-0 A Robertson, S Martyn 2-1 G Brown.